Jason Vincion
Main Home | Now | About | Contact | Links
Music Bandcamp | Spotify | Albums | Projects
Words Medium | Blog | Articles | Reviews
2024-04-15 (Week 2315): Closing Past Chapters With Love

It was another hectic week with social events, cleaning out a storage unit and a basement, dump runs in multiple cities, and a week of work with lots of physical labor. I don’t know if I’m ready for this week yet, but it’s here, so I must be.

The day before the release of “The Calm After the Storm,” the idea for my next piece came to me. It will be called “Closing Past Chapters With Love,” and it will be a rework of another old track of mine, “Oblivion.”

That said, it will be a while before I start working on it because there are many precursors that need to happen before I start rearranging the piece I originally wrote almost 24 years ago.

It’s time for me to close up everything I’ve done before (or am trying to finish), rearrange “Oblivion,” and then move on to the next thing. That next thing will likely be something different, or perhaps something I’ve done before, yet more focused.

According to his most recent update, Devin Townsend is in a similar place. I feel grateful that I don’t have four giant projects in front of me that require multiple people from multiple continents to help bring them to fruition. It’s just me, working away at my laptop in the early morning hours.

I have to finish Mordor, catalog all of my old music prior to “The Calm After the Storm” and either archive it or make a torrent for it, go through all my past fiction works and glean what I can from them, go through old websites and see if there’s anything I can bring forward, and streamline this website one more time (hopefully only once).

After that, I can start work on “Closing Past Chapters With Love,” release it to the world, and figure out what comes next. While working on the above, I’ll figure things out, and I might already have a few hints.

I also need to offload many old items, whether through sales, donations, or even more dump runs. The things I use daily continue to diminish, so having all these things around is unnecessary, especially when someone else could be using or enjoying them. I’m not to the point of not buying anything as a protest, but perhaps in time.

It also feels like it’s time for a new cycle to begin and that this one has run its course. Many things in life and the universe seem to run in cycles, so the universe’s heat death appears nihilistic. The cyclic model seems more in sync with how other things in the universe work, but I’m only speculating, as I’m not an astrophysicist.

Until next week!