Jason Vincion
Main Home | Now | About | Contact | Links
Music Bandcamp | Spotify | Albums | Projects
Words Medium | Blog | Articles | Reviews
2024-03-11 (Week 2310): Refinements Abound

It would be strange if I didn’t have a busy week, but I can’t remember what made it so busy. It feels like it was an all-ahead-full situation most of the week, though I know I had three projects to take care of on Thursday, and I got them all done with a bit of time to spare.

Yesterday, I made another trip to my mom’s house to help her clean and attempt to help her get some basic amenities fixed. It could be done at this juncture, though I’d like to get over there again and seriously clean the unfinished basement. Doing so with a flathead shovel and heavy-duty garbage bags should suffice.

Last week, I finally completed my project, sifting through about 10 months of notes and compiling them into one document. It’s 128 pages long, and I’ve already started reading through it, distilling it down mainly into directives, ideas, and questions. As ideas continue to form, I’ll separate them into a different document as I work my way through the 128 pages. I’m already 22 pages in, so progress is happening.

This week is back to the music, and I will do my best to rework “A Calming Influence” into B Minor and release it as a single on Spotify in a month (w2314). I could release it immediately, but DistroKid always likes some lead time to send everything to various streaming services.

I’m listening to both versions to see what elements I’d like to keep. In listening to the Amaranthine Skies one, I can tell I added elements over the top of the original, and that’s about it. I’ll likely change it up a bit more this time since it’s been 21 years since I penned the original.

In other music news, I’m going back through my old Spotify playlists and refining them to what I still listen to. I’ve noticed a lot of the old death metal I used to listen to has fallen off, but that makes sense since I’m not that guy anymore. It will take a while to get through all of them (I count 19), but I’ll get there eventually.

If I ever had the opportunity to have a day off and work on my projects all day, I’d probably split my weekly process down into a daily one: two hours for writing, two hours for music, two hours for gaming, and two hours for simplifying. However, if done daily, the time for simplification would dwindle quickly, and I’d replace it with reading. Ahh, hypotheticals.

In any event, I will wrap this up and get to writing/re-writing music.

Until next week!