Jason Vincion
Main Home | Now | About | Contact | Links
Music Bandcamp | Spotify | Albums | Projects
Words Medium | Blog | Articles | Reviews
2024-03-04 (Week 2309): Finding Organization in Chaos

As is unsurprising, I’m coming off of another busy week. The big reveal can finally come to light, as the brewery I work for just collaborated with KISW’s Mens Room radio show to create the Mens Room IPA.

I’ve had a long history with KISW, as it was the radio station I listened to as a teenager. I also won tickets to one of Soundgarden’s last shows before their breakup in 1997 by calling in to their station at the right time while I was home sick from school.

The show was weird – Presidents of the United States of America opened, and they were full of energy. They brought a Christmas tree on stage, and played in Santa hats (the show was on December 18th). Soundgarden was not – they played well, but the energy was off. No wonder they broke up after the tour.

The last few weeks have been revving up for the release, which has been exhausting but worthwhile – it is a tasty beverarge.

As for me, yesterday I spent time trying to do more cleaning at my childhood home, which was mildly successful but needed to be more successful. There’s still much more work to do, even to get to the point of fixing basic amenities. I hope another Sunday over there this week will get it to the point where progress can happen, but I need a better strategy.

I also finished my four-week writing, music, Mordor, and administrative work cycle, and I’m returning for a second round. Writing and music aren’t going anywhere, Mordor is still enjoyable, and while administrative work on life isn’t the most enjoyable (taxes are on my plate the next time around), I’m going to call that my “simplifying” week, which entails updating accounts, deleting bookmarks and unused accounts, getting rid of old things, archiving old data, and letting go of old ideas that no longer serve me. A self-clutter cleanse, if you will.

The second writing week will likely bring completion to sifting through old notes and the beginning of compiling them better. I also want to write an article for Medium, but I don’t have any ideas. Maybe something will come to me, or perhaps I’ll need to wait another month until my ideas have come together more.

Next week’s music week will be more fruitful because I have ideas and plans for releasing a monthly single. The era of the album is over, and I don’t care about being successful with music anymore. That said, I want to share my creativity globally with a proper distribution source, so if something happens, cool. If nothing happens, that’s cool too. You have to play to win.

Until next week!