Jason Vincion
Main Home | Now | About | Contact | Links
Music Bandcamp | Spotify | Albums | Projects
Words Medium | Blog | Articles | Reviews
2023-10-30 (Week 2291): Cultivating Shrapnel

Things have slowed down a little this week, although work is as busy as ever and will ramp up over the following months and years as new projects come down the pipeline. I’m looking forward to it!

As for creative projects, Devin Townsend is again a bad influence. After watching his new update, I returned to trying to do a prime-number-focused, kick-drum-oriented electronic project, but it’s aping Meshuggah. I hope I can watch his second update without going on another fruitless creative tangent, but we’ll see.

I’m not throwing a single iota of shade because Devin was the influence to get this site going again 78 weeks ago. Hopefully, his updates can influence me to get all my old projects and creativity online and get my focus in a new direction.

I’m considering weekly Medium articles that expand upon ideas I’ve shared in these blogs, but I don’t know if I’m there yet. I think if I get a basic format down, as well as a schedule for creativity, I might be able to get somewhere. I’m unsure where that is, so perhaps I need to work that out first.

I’ve also had the Metal Gear Password theme stuck in my head as of late, and the thought was that I could meld that style of sound with the aforementioned Meshuggah-influenced project from last week, but I don’t know. As Devin calls it, it’s all a bunch of shrapnel, and I’m trying to figure out what to do with it.

If I keep putting up my old work on this site and get all my previous creativity in order, it may shed some light on where to go next, but as I’m wont to do, I’m trying to force the issue and be creative now. Perhaps this is the exercise in patience I need, or maybe I need to revisit the Tao Te Ching for a little perspective. Actions have consequences and all that.

Until next week!