Jason Vincion
Main Home | Now | About | Contact | Links
Music Bandcamp | Spotify | Albums | Projects
Words Medium | Blog | Articles | Reviews
2023-10-09 (Week 2288): Shifting Things Around

It’s been a super busy week, and I can’t even remember everything that’s gone on, but if I sit and ponder for a bit, I’ll get there.

I just returned from an overnight to Bellingham with my partner, and she and I had a great time. I caught up with some old friends/colleagues in the beer industry, had many Oktoberfest beers from various breweries (all were quite tasty), and just enjoyed a pleasant fall day.

One of my co-workers had his last day on Thursday, and seeing him go is sad. That said, I’m super happy for him to get to be able to travel to Amsterdam and around Europe for a few months (at least). There is a chance he may return to my workplace when he comes back to the greater Seattle area, but we shall see.

My main side project is getting everything up on this website and streamlining all the pages to look similar. I’ll likely keep the designs for the Projects pages once I get to them, but that’s down the road.

Going through almost 30 years of website creation and updates is daunting, but the only way out is through. It will be interesting to see my evolution as a creator. I remember specific eras of life where I had mental roadblocks and poor attitudes, and I’m not sure if I want to share those again, though it could be a learning experience for myself and others.

I’m also tinkering with some music ideas again, but nothing serious. I’m sorting samples into atmospheres, bass, drums, and leads, and will likely do my best to create something in the t e l e p a t h テレパシー能力者 vein and as a challenge, only using the Hydrogen advanced drum program to do so. I also watched a Venus Theory video recently saying that most people can only focus on three sounds at a time, so I will have a lead driving the songs, atmospheres for texture, and the bass and drums somewhat syncopating to keep the low-end grounded.

I think that’s all for this week, and hopefully, by next week, I’ll have more of the website sorted out.

Until next week!