Jason Vincion
Main Home | Now | About | Contact | Links
Music Bandcamp | Spotify | Albums | Projects
Words Medium | Blog | Articles | Reviews
2023-09-04 (Week 2283): On the Precipice

While some take the day off from labor, I’m about to head into my last day at my current work. It’s been a good 2.5 years there, although those times have been bumpy. My work there started right around the time of the vaccine rollouts, and lord knows, things were pretty rough with society as a whole around those times.

Anyway, it’ll be good to get a fresh start at a new place of employment with more responsibility to conquer and more things to focus on. Last week was rough in dealing with leaving my current work, as the good memories were hitting hard and making me regret leaving, but the graduation effect was also deeply entrenched. The rational mind battling the emotions makes for rough going.

However, the mind, heart, and gut align this week, and I’m ready to move forward. Today will be a fun send-off from my current work, and I’m welcome to return whenever I like. Considering where I work for one more day makes some of the best beer in Seattle, I will likely return soon, especially since they’re just down the street from where my parents live.

I’m also on the precipice of seldom returning to Seattle, where I’ve lived or worked my whole life. Now, I’m strictly planted on the Eastside and can choose to watch Seattle from afar or not. Considering what a disaster Seattle is becoming and that I’ve had a front-row seat to the slow-motion trainwreck for a few years, I’m ready to fix my gaze elsewhere.

It feels like turning my back on the place I grew up, but the place I grew up is deeply entrenched in a sense of hiraeth, as current Seattle barely resembles the Seattle I grew up with in the 1980s and 1990s. The quaint little Scandinavian suburb I grew up in (Ballard) has become a hub for hip restaurants, six-story mixed-use buildings with no parking, rows of tents along the sidewalks, and pungent stenches of human waste from the bushes. I like the brewery district that popped up there, but that’s all that appeals.

As for everything else, there will be a shake-up with how much time I can work on my external projects. I’m sure I’ll still have time for my weekly update here because my work schedule isn’t changing much, but how I use my time will vary. I’ll get there when I get there.

Until next week!