Jason Vincion
Main Home | Now | About | Contact | Links
Music Bandcamp | Spotify | Albums | Projects
Words Medium | Blog | Articles | Reviews
2023-07-03 (Week 2274): Uncovering Ideas

It’s been a bit of busy week of reading and uncovering ideas, and the biggest thing has been a return to a daily journal. My schedule has shifted to getting up even earlier in the morning (4:30am), and I’ve made the time to start brain dumping for an hour every morning that I can.

It’s uncovering a lot of insights, future plans that I didn’t even know I had, and getting rid a lot of the garbage clogging up my brain. It was part of a goal-seeking exercise inspired by David Goggins’ “Can’t Hurt Me” book. I’m likely going to read through it again to drill down some more of the exercises.

It lead me to set a goal of typing 1000 words in a hour, and after I blew past that goal the first day, the new goal is to get 10 words past my best word count. I hit 2750 in an hour yesterday, so I’ve already set a lofty goal.

Building up my typing speed is part of my plan to increase my writing skills, so once I get my speed to a level that I feel is acceptable, I’m going to try to focus my typing more into specific topics. The previous processes I’ve used to generate ideas have seemed helpful, but inefficient. This process drops everything down on the page, and then I can read back through, and keep track of which ideas really stand out.

The hourly morning typing sessions are a way I’m trying to achieve a flow state with writing, and it seems to be working. Ultimately, I do want to write a book, even if I just end up self-publishing through Lulu, that’s fine. NaNoWriMo is coming up in November, and that seems like the perfect opportunity to get after writing a book.

If I can keep my flow state of writing 2750 words in an hour (or more), it will take less than 20 hours to write over 50000 words, which is the bottom limit for NaNoWriMo. Considering there are 720 hours in the month of November, finding 20 of them to write 50000 words seems more than doable.

I also want to finish writing the book after the competition with the self is over, as I completed NaNoWriMo in 2003 and 2016, and those manuscripts have sat dormant for 20 years and 7 years, respectively. I will go through those manuscripts again once I get to that project, but I imagine I will find them to be hot garbage. There might be some insights to be gleaned from them, but that’s likely all.

My current project is finally stumbling through the depths of Dejenol and doing my best to complete Mordor by finding and defeating Asmodeus. I’ve added 10-20 levels to each of my four characters last week, but a full wipeout from a room of Silent Eagles on floor 13 means I have a lot more work to do before I find the big boss on floor 15. I’ll get there.

Until next week!