Jason Vincion
Main Home | Now | About | Contact | Links
Music Bandcamp | Spotify | Albums | Projects
Words Medium | Blog | Articles | Reviews
2023-06-05 (Week 2270): The Road Becomes a Path

It's been another busy week, having returned from a short overnight to Edison and Fairhaven yesterday. The highlights of the trip were Terramar Brewstillery and Eclipse Bookstore. Terramar for its beer garden's sheer peace and stillness, and Eclipse for being the most voluminous and coolest used bookstore I can recall ever visiting.

I've picked up various used books over the past week, which means I'm heading toward my plan of "read, write, and publish." Certain books I'm reading are becoming irrelevant to my work, but I will finish them for potential insights.

Two recent essays have been highly influential for this shift - Miles Mathis' "Boycott Everything" and Gregg Koep's "We Must Cultivate Our Garden." Gregg's post and Voltaire's quote led me to pick up Voltaire's "Candide." I've been familiar with Voltaire for a while, as his quote, "If you want to know who controls you, look at who you are not allowed to criticize," continues to ring louder and truer to this day.

As for what I'm working towards, it's an elaboration on ideas that I've collected. I've got a trilogy of books in mind, although it almost feels like phases of life. That idea will make its way into whatever format I write. Regardless of the logistics and semantics, I will write paragraphs on the notes I've collected and come up with. If I can, I will keep the idea; if I can't, I'll let it go.

The drone guitar work will have to wait a bit, as I've got some other things I need to take care of before I can get back to painting with sound. I recently picked up a 2TB 5400 RPM HDD for my laptop, and I want to create a more consolidated archive of my data without worrying about space constraints. I have a 2TB 7200 RPM HDD for my laptops, but it doesn't work on them. My thought is that it's too fast for my older machines. I'll find a use for it someday if it's not a brick.

There are some other things I wish to write about, but I need to sit with my thoughts for another week and see how they evolve.

Until next week!