Jason Vincion
Main Home | Now | About | Contact | Links
Music Bandcamp | Spotify | Albums | Projects
Words Medium | Blog | Articles | Reviews
2023-02-06 (Week 2253): 5k and a New Approach

First off, thank you for the 5000 views! Things are coming together better as time passes, so I'll keep tinkering to see what happens.

As hinted last week, I've decided to go backward in OS and return to my 32-bit XP machine to see what I can get out of it. I want to go back to the 32-bit era for computing because of the simplicity of workflow and lack of telemetry. The CPU is from 2006, so it predates the Intel Management Engine by two years.

If I wanted to get a newer 32-bit system, I'd get one with an AMD CPU since they didn't start their Platform Security Processor until 2013, and I prefer having systems without built-in backdoors. I don't know how much I'll be using these computers to go online, but if I do, a Pale Moon fork works with some older Windows builds.

I might stick with going online on my Linux laptop since it is lightweight and is still supported. I'm sure it'll be okay if I set my homepage to Neocities on the XP laptop, and I can do my website work from there. We shall see.

In other news, I took a work trip to Portland last week, which was an excellent opportunity to clear my head. It helped me to see that trying to find a new direction is likely unnecessary, and I need to blend the cumulative experiences I've had over the past 2252 weeks to move forward.

That's not to say I won't try going in new directions, but it's become more evident that I've exhausted myself by doing that with music over the past 40+ weeks (as documented). It's time to reel in it, sit with things, and see what still resonates.

Until next week!