Jason Vincion
Main Home | Now | About | Contact | Links
Music Bandcamp | Spotify | Albums | Projects
Words Medium | Blog | Articles | Reviews
2022-12-12 (Week 2245): Another Trip Around the Sun

Getting a year older (43 now) puts things into perspective. I can zoom out a little bit and see what time sinks I have and where better to focus my time and energy.

A quote I ran across recently that resonates is, "extraordinary results are directly determined by how narrow you can make your focus." Narrowing focus is not the easiest thing for me since there are many different trails and threads that I'm inclined to pursue.

That means I must pay attention to anything that could be a time sink and remove it from my sphere of experience. I'm not exactly sure which creative interests would fall under that umbrella, but other pursuits can fall by the wayside.

I'm also starting to realize that wanting to spend all of my time creating is a procrastination technique for dealing with all the "mundane" things of regular life, like cleaning, downsizing, account management, fitness, and whatever else. I'm trying to figure out a way to combine it like a business without all the paperwork and government oversight. Life management, I suppose.

As far as the music goes, I'm making progress and have a creative process locked in. I have to streamline some samples, and rearrange some previous ideas (as well as write new ones), but it's coming together well. I'm trying not to get lost in project minutiae, but it's hard to do so when there are many different creative approaches I want to take in concern with the artistic presentation of the music. I'll get there.

I should have something ready next year, and I'm thinking about releasing demos from the album as I create them (as I did many years ago with my Natthimmel project), but I'll get there when I get there. I need to get something ready to go first.

Until next week!