Jason Vincion
Main Home | Now | About | Contact | Links
Music Bandcamp | Spotify | Albums | Projects
Words Medium | Blog | Articles | Reviews
2022-08-15 (Week 2228): Staying the Course

I'm making progress with the sample refining, and I'm about halfway through constructing the foundation for the fourth track, so I should finish all the background layers by the end of this month.

The album's name is currently "As the Noise Builds." It may be too literal of a title or a little too on the nose. It's a metaphor for how things build to a climax, and once they're over, they fall away with only echoes remaining.

It feels like there have been a lot of endings over the past few years, and it's a lot harder to get invested in new beginnings. Even though I put out a demo-quality album at 21 (Week 1146) called "A New Beginning" and believed in new beginnings up until a few years ago, I no longer have that feeling as a 42-year-old.

I feel that you can't ever really leave behind what came before - you can only choose to pay attention to it/give it weight or not. That could be why it feels like life moves in cycles, though not uniform ones.

Until next week!